## 44.—Eighth Ministry of Saskatchewan, as at Oct. 31, 1959

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 20, 1956: 36 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation, 14 Liberal and 3 Social Credit.)

Nore.—Ministers are shown at date of original appointment as a Minister and at date of appointment to present portfolio, despite the formation of a new Ministry consequent upon the appointment of a new Premier.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment <sup>1</sup>
Premier, President of the Council and Minister of Co-operation and Co-operative Development	Hon. T. C. DOUGLAS. Hon. C. M. FINES. Hon. J. H. BROCKELBANK. Hon. J. T. DOUGLAS. Hon. W. S. LLOYD. Hon. L. F. MCINTOSH. Hon. C. C. WILLIAMS.	July 10, 1944 July 10, 1944 July 10, 1944 July 10, 1944 July 10, 1944 July 10, 1944	July 10, 1944 July 10, 1944 Aug. 4, 1948 /July 10, 1944
Minister of Agriculture Minister of Social Welfare and Rehabilitation Minister of Natural Resources Attorney General and Provincial Secretary Minister of Travel and Information Minister of Public Health Minister of Public Works Minister without Portfolio	Hon, I. C. NOLLET	Feb.         26,         1945           Nov.         14,         1949           Oct.         24,         1952           July         27,         1956           July         27,         1956           July         27,         1956           July         10,         1944	<ul> <li>July 27, 1956</li> <li>Feb. 26, 1945</li> <li>July 27, 1956</li> <li>July 27, 1956</li> <li>July 27, 1956</li> <li>July 27, 1956</li> <li>Apr. 1, 1957</li> <li>July 27, 1956</li> <li>Aug. 31, 1956</li> <li>July 27, 1956</li> </ul>

<sup>1</sup> Minister not necessarily sworn in on date of appointment.

## Subsection 9.-Alberta

The Government of the Province of Alberta is composed of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. There are 65 members in the Legislative Assembly, elected for a maximum period of five years.

The salary of the Premier is \$13,000 and of a Cabinet Minister \$10,000. Special allowances are paid as follows: the Speaker \$2,500; the Deputy Speaker \$1,500; and the Leader of the Opposition \$2,500. The sessional indemnity for each member of the Legislative Assembly is \$2,400, plus an expense allowance of \$1,200, plus a subsistence allowance (for members residing outside Edmonton) of \$15 for each day during the session that a member is necessarily absent from his permanent place of residence.

## 45.—Lieutenant-Governors of Alberta since Confederation, 1905-59

Name	Date of Commission			Name		Date of Commission		
Hon. GEORGE H. V. BULYEA Hon. GEORGE H. V. BULYEA Hon. ROBERT GEORGE BRETT Hon. ROBERT GEORGE BRETT Hon. WILLIAM EGBERT	Oct. Oct. Oct.	5, 6, 20,	1910 <sup>1</sup> 1915 1920 <sup>1</sup>	Hon. WILLIAM L. WALSH Hon. Philip C. H. Primrose Hon. J. C. BOWEN Hon. JOHN J. BOWLEN.	Sept. Mar.	10, 20,	1936 1937	

<sup>1</sup> Second term.